November 04, 2015

10 essential rules for the observance of 'Dharma'

'Dharma' is one of the most uttered word in our ancient scriptures and most intractable terms used in our Hindu culture. It is derived from 'DHRI', which means 'TO UPHOLD' or 'TO SUSTAIN'. That means 'Dharma' will help us to uphold. It is said that every individual should follow the path of dharma.

But why should we follow dharm? I heard, to attain 'moksha' one must follow Dharma. As far as I have understood, the purpose of practicing dharm is not only to attain a moksha, but also indirectly it governs the welfare of the society. Dharma means righteous conduct, which means we should follow social laws. If one who wants to practice the dharm must enjoy the worldly pleasures, stay contained, treat others respectfully and attain divine happiness, save himself from degradation.

There is a verse in 'Manusmriti' which was written by the Manu Rishi, which says:

Dhriti kshama dmosteyam shouchamindriya nigrahah..
Dheer vidya satyamakrodho dashakam dharma lakshanam..

धृति: क्षमा दमोऽस्‍तेयं शौचमिन्‍द्रियनिग्रह:।
धीर्विद्या सत्‍यमक्रोधो दशकं धर्मलक्षणम्‌।।

It means, if you want to practice Dharma, then you must follow 10 essential rules:
  • Dhriti- Patience.
  • Kshama- Forgiveness.
  • Dama- Self control.
  • Asteya- Honesty.
  • Saucha- Cleanliness.
  • Indriya Nigraha- Sense control.
  • Dhee- Sense of reasoning.
  • Vidya- Knowledge.
  • Satya- Truthfulness.
  • Akrodha-   Ability to control your anger.
अर्थात : -
धैर्य, क्षमा, संयम, चोरी न करना, शौच (स्वच्छता), इन्द्रियों को वश मे रखना, बुद्धि, विद्या, सत्य और क्रोध न करना ; ये दस धर्म के लक्षण हैं।
-K Himaanshu Shuklaa...


Post a Comment

RSSChomp Blog Directory